Z Series or D850 to add to my D500?

3 years 5 months ago #699174 by techguy817
Hey everyone!

I've been shooting digital for 20+ years and currently have a D500. Really been enjoying it. Primarily do travel photography, landscapes, and nature. For lenses I have the latest Nikon 70-200 as well as some DX lenses including 12-24 and Tamron 18-400. Going to Bryce and Zion in December and just generally want to get another camera body so I have two again (used to have the D300S and D200 and like having two sets of lenses/cameras readily available).

Current options include.

- Another D500. Good price and I know the camera but still crop sensor and video is poor (I don't do much video but might be nice to have. Last time I left on my D500 for a long video recording it seemed to overheat and shut down).
- D850. Full frame and somewhat similar controls to D500. Could use my 70-200 lens on it but that's about it for now. Video performance still not great.
- Z6II or Z7II with kit lens. Full frame, modern, smaller package, very good video. Controls different than D500 though, not super great battery life.

Would greatly appreciate any suggestions. Thanks in advance!

3 years 5 months ago - 3 years 5 months ago #699313 by Nikon Shooter
The D850 would grant greater flexibility if you
already have FX lenses. Great DR and resolution.

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
3 years 5 months ago #699314 by Scotty
Get a Nikon D6 if price isn't a concern.

When the last candle has been blown out
and the last glass of champagne has been drunk
All that you are left with are the memories and the images-David Cooke.

Photo Comments
3 years 5 months ago #699317 by techguy817
Thanks for the replies.

Here is my list of current lenses:

Nikon 12-24 DX F4
Nikon 35 FX F1.8
Nikon 70-200 F2.8E
Tamron 18-400 F3.5-6.3