Help - D7500 mirror 'flutter'

3 years 1 month ago #712266 by deneb
Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie and wish to ask for help from more experienced users.  I bought a D7500 just over a year ago and started to learn how to use all those controls :-)
During the various lockdowns the camera got little use.  Now it looks as though we may be able to get out and about I have started to familiarize myself with the camera again.  However, something strange has started to happen and I hope it is my doing through ignorance and would welcome advice or comments. When starting to press the shutter release I get the usual beep sound as focus is established but now often there is a sort of 'fluttering' movement coming from the mirror as though it is deciding whether to lock up to see straight through the lens.  The photo is still taken ok but I wonder if I have done something to start this situation or if it means there is something wrong with the camera.  Luckily, I have a two year warranty and so I can take it to the dealer if necessary.  Any help will be appreciated.
Den.

3 years 1 month ago #712328 by Shadowfixer1
Is this a visible flutter or an audible flutter. If it's a sound you hear it may be the VR of the lens you're using if it has VR. Take the lens off and trip the shutter to see if it goes away and also visually observe the mirror action looking into the camera when the shutter is tripped and the lens is off. Does it happen at all shutter speeds?
The following user(s) said Thank You: deneb
3 years 1 month ago #712398 by deneb
Hi Shadowfixer1,
Thanks for your quick reply and advice.  You are right - this movement of the mirror only happens with VR set to 'on'.  Usually immediately after switching on when it seems to be seeking its best position.  It mostly then works normally.  Does this mean something wrong with the lens?