(Beginner) I took a photo of my best friend. Feedback appreciated!

5 years 4 days ago #636777 by 08clair3
Make: Canon
Model: Canon EOS Rebel SL2
Lens: EF-S18-55mm f/4-5.6 IS STM
ISO: 1600
Aperture: f/5.0
Shutter speed: 1/6 sec
Captured: Fri, 22 Mar 2019 21:10pm

Background information:
  • I wanted to capture my friend's playfulness, youth, and beauty in this photo using the lighting and the position of the blanket.
  • I am a nervous beginner who has had my camera for only a few weeks, so I do not yet have a firm grasp on basic photography elements such as composition and lighting. Do you have any related points of criticism for me to address so that I can improve my portrait photography? What aspects of the portrait catch your eye, in a good way or a bad way?
  • I used Lightroom and then Photoshop to color grade the image. I cleaned up a lot of the background using the clone stamp and spot healing brush tools (there were outlets and cords and unattractive lines all over the wall behind my model).
  • EXIF DATA:
    • I use a Canon EOS Rebel SL2 with an EFS 18-55 mm kit lens (I plan to stop using a kit lens and to invest in a 50mm prime lens very soon).
    • Focal length: 33 mm
    • Shutter speed: 1/6 sec
    • Aperture: f/5.0
    • ISO: 1600
  • Thank you very much for your time! I appreciate all feedback and will take it to heart for improvement.

Attachments:
4 years 11 months ago #637580 by Piechura
I'm not sure the playful thing comes across if I'm honest. I think the problem is that her expression doesn't really show playfulness (she's not smiling for a start) and the pillow is obscuring her face so it'd be difficult to see even if it did.