How did you learn photography?

7 years 6 months ago #500337 by Raymond Z
I just made another post about NYIP. 

How many of you are self taught?

How many of you are formally taught?

Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500342 by Shadowfixer1
Self taught here in shooting and processing. I have never taken a course in either one.
7 years 6 months ago #500479 by bojojo
Studied art history in school, started concentrating on modern art and the history of photography later on in my academic career

Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500491 by Ian Stone
self taught

Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500540 by Stic
Picked it up as I went along, photography wise.

PP on the other hand, I began with Photoshop 5 and was self taught in that but I was (much) later trained in the Adobe design suite CS3 (photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign) when working in prepress at local paper...

Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500543 by effron
Self taught, the ancient school of hard knocks and dirty socks....

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500569 by Screamin Scott
Mostly self taught although I did take some corresspondence classes wit the "School of Modern Photograhy" back in the early 70's... Never did finish them though. Really learned more by doing than that course.

Scott Ditzel Photography

www.flickr.com/photos/screaminscott/

Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500576 by Overread
Self taught for me.  My father was a photographer and taught myself and siblings early about photography.  

Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500590 by srubio77
A little bit of both. Started out self taught, but began taking classes and workshops once my interest became more than just a hobby.

Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500604 by Chris Briggs
Put me down as another self taught photographer.  Books, websites, and YouTube was my friend.  

Photo Comments
7 years 6 months ago #500638 by PhotoViking
Did I ever learn it?