Do you remember what your first camera was?

5 years 11 months ago #574972 by Alfonso Camil
I just got back from a photography meet up group and was amazed with some of these long time seasoned photographers who still remember what their first camera was from 20 to 30 years ago! 

Well, I'm a newbie, so I only have 1 camera to remember!  

ha ha ha

So, you remember what your first camera was? 

Photo Comments
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #574974 by effron
A Kodak Brownie? ....It was well more than thirty years ago, closer to sixty.....
I still have it somewhere....
Edit...my first slr was a Nikkormat ftn, that was almost fifty years ago....:(

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
5 years 11 months ago #574980 by John Landolfi
Not counting the means by which I managed to get some photos early on, the first camera I actually bought was a Nikkorex 35, and it would surprise me if someone else had actually even heard of it. But it served well enough to "hook" me, and it was followed by a Nikkorex F with a 50mm f/2 Nikkor. I have kept that lens as a memento... And a real museum piece: a 90mm lens which was originally designed for the rangefinder cameras., and had been adapted by Nikon for use with the NikonF, which initially had very few lenses. 
But I go on....much more than you wanted to know...:)

Photo Comments
5 years 11 months ago #574983 by Vespista
I can't remember the make of it, but it was all plastic construction; a toy really, but like John, it got me hooked.
I would have been 12-13 years old and still have some of the photos I took with it.
I'm 64 now and since then I've owned Pentax, Canon and a Leica but have been "Brand-loyal" to Nikon for the past 30 years. My current body is a D810.

Photo Comments
5 years 11 months ago #574984 by Alfonso Camil
Kodak Brownie?  Are you talking about the camera from early 1900's?

Photo Comments
5 years 11 months ago #574990 by KCook