Why cameras still shoot in TIFF?

5 years 1 month ago #634356 by Chuck Liley
I just noticed TIFF as an option.  Why in the world are these files still offered on cameras.  I don't know about you, I've never used TIFF setting before.  These files are so huge. 

Anyone have idea why this is still offered?  

Photo Comments
5 years 1 month ago #634391 by Barbara Fite
Perhaps for the sake of old legacy programs?  Got me.  Never used either.  

Photo Comments
5 years 1 month ago #634394 by Nikon Shooter

Chuck Liley wrote: Anyone have idea why this is still offered?  

Barbara is right, legacy it is but not because of programs but
because some users may not have access to modern converters.

Otherwise, Chuck, it remains only a marketing strategy: if it is
offered by other makers… better do it too. Non-sensical, IMO.

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
5 years 1 month ago #634622 by F Anderson
I'd bet not a single one photographer here has shot in TIFF in the last year.

Photo Comments
5 years 1 month ago #634684 by garyrhook
TIFF is supported by a wide variety of imaging applications. It is lossless. At one time it would have been much more convenient than RAW.

The manufacturers probably have their reasons.

Photo Comments
5 years 1 month ago #634704 by F Anderson

garyrhook wrote: TIFF is supported by a wide variety of imaging applications. It is lossless. At one time it would have been much more convenient than RAW.

How long ago was that?  Now I know I don't have the experience that many of you have.  But in all the photo meet ups I belong too, you always hear when discussed JPG and RAW.  Never once have I heard a single peep about TIFF.  So this must have been some time ago. Interesting to learn that it was preferred over RAW at one point.  That's the part I'm curious to know how long ago that was.  

Photo Comments
5 years 1 month ago #634709 by John-Pepp