Why do people use film?

6 months 3 weeks ago #649035 by morgothaod
I'm a beginner to photography and am wondering why people use film over digital. It seems really expensive and time consuming over digital.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 3 weeks ago #649049 by Cory J
Some do it because they like how the images look, while others shoot with film because it's nostalgic.

Photo Comments

6 months 3 weeks ago #649054 by Nikon Shooter

morgothaod wrote: It seems really expensive and time consuming over digital.

For many of my students, film is more like it at the beginning,
they feel they have something tangible in the hand; as oppo-
sed to digital that is somewhat more abstract, numerical, and
digital. They all finally get the hang of it and go digital.

Yes, more expensive at capture but way less in development.

A younger pro friend of mine does his work in digital but loves
to shoot two, three films a week. I did not since years.

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments

6 months 3 weeks ago #649056 by fmw
I agree with Cory.  It is nostalgia.  There is no logical reason to use film any longer.

Photo Comments

6 months 3 weeks ago #649100 by Kenya See
How much does it cost to develop film these days?  I remember a roll use to be $11 bucks back in the day.  

Photo Comments

6 months 3 weeks ago #649152 by icepics
Depends on what you want done how much it costs - film developed, scanned, proof sheets, prints, etc. You'd have to look up prices at places like Dwayne's, The Darkroom, Richard Photography, etc.

I've always been a film photographer, just added digital and use film more sparingly. I collect and like using vintage cameras, just not on a regular basis. It used to be cheap and easy - drop off your film, pick up the finished photos. I don't know if it's that much more time consuming if you're good at it although there is some set up, many people seem to spend a lot of time doing post on the computer.