TSA and camera batteries

4 years 7 months ago #656584 by Carter Gledhill
Hopefully I'm posting this in the correct spot here.  I'm kind of new to photography.  Well I got my first professional camera 8 months ago.  However have had a Sony Cybershot for the last 10 years.  And those cameras have become pretty advanced, so I wouldn't say I'm a newbie.  

For the first time with my travels, I have 4-5 extra batteries I'm traveling with.  Just to be clear, these need to be in my carry on to be cool with TSA right?  

4 years 7 months ago - 4 years 7 months ago #656588 by Nikon Shooter
I found this on the TSA website:

I found this on the TSA website:2. Batteries - Whether they’re for business, health reasons, or leisure, we all travel with gadgets, and gadgets need batteries! Here’s a rundown of different types of batteries and whether they’re permitted or not. If you have any additional questions about batteries, please reach out to the FAA.Batteries Allowed in Carry-on Bags:
  • Dry cell alkaline batteries; typical AA, AAA, C, D, 9-volt, button sized cells, etc.
  • Dry cell rechargeable batteries such as Nickel Metal Hydride (NiMH) and Nickel Cadmium (NiCad).
  • Jump starters with lithium ion batteries.
  • Lithium ion batteries (a.k.a.: rechargeable lithium, lithium polymer, LIPO, secondary lithium).
  • Consumer-sized lithium ion batteries [no more than 8 grams of equivalent lithium content or 100 watt hours (wh) per battery]. This size covers AA, AAA, 9-volt, cell phone, PDA, camera, camcorder, Gameboy, and standard laptop computer batteries.
  • Up to two larger lithium ion batteries (more than 8 grams, up to 25 grams of equivalent lithium content per battery) in their carry-on. This size covers larger extended-life laptop batteries. Most consumer lithium ion batteries are below this size. Lithium ion batteries that are between 101 – 160 wh are allowed in carry-on bags with airline approval.