Will Mirrorless Replace DSLR? - Concerns about Upgrading

4 years 6 months ago - 4 years 6 months ago #660686 by New but trying
So, I'm pretty new to photography, and I feel like I'm coming into the world of DSLRs right as the market seems to be transitioning to mirrorless. I'm concerned because I want to get more lenses for my Nikon D3300, but it seems that the future of the F-mount may be a bit uncertain. From rumors, it seems that Nikon will discontinue many of its DSLR models and replace them with mirrorless cameras. I would really like to step up to the D7500 or it's successor (since that seems to be one of the cameras that may get one), but I'm concerned about that if I continue investing into the F-mount, there aren't going to be any cameras compatible with it in the near future. I'm aware there are adapters, but as of yet, the only decent one for F-mount is for the Z-series and it's $250 (on top of the very expensive price of the camera). I'm not necessarily opposed to moving to different mirrorless system now because I don't have much invested in my setup, but there aren't nearly as many options for lenses currently, and they all seem to be much more expensive than a lot of DSLR lenses. I am also weary of buying new lenses because if Nikon focuses exclusively on mirrorless, the value of older F-mount lenses will probably fall drastically. I'm curious to see how Nikon's introduction of cheaper mirrorless cameras will influence the market (it should bring out some cheaper mirrorless lenses), and what they're going to do for APS-C, although I doubt they're going to put much effort into legacy support.

P.S. I also like the chunkiness of DSLRs and I'm not that fond of electronic viewfinders. Even the one on the Sony A7RIII was a bit disappointing; it didn't look that great and I was a little saddened to find that the color balance was severely off (and yes, I know you can adjust that, but even still it was never great).

Photo Comments