Newbie with DSLR question

3 years 11 months ago #682181 by 2guns
Started in the 70s with a Yashica. Graduated to a Canon AE1 and and AE programmable later. Then a Canon FTX which was my first film with auto focus. I bought the first 6 mp Canon digital that came out since it would use my lenses. I’ve been using an XTI since 2007 I think. I’ve thought of upgrading to the SL2 or the T5i. I don’t do many portraits. Mostly nature and landscape shots out kayaking or horseback riding. Largest prints I’ve ever had made were 24x36. I am familiar it’s my XTI but had some issues a few days back with Compact flash not wanting to seat. I think I’ve got that fixed. I’m nowhere a pro but love to take photos. I’ve considered the XSI since it used SDH cards. Should I splurge for much newer body or invest into some smaller F stop lenses. 

3 years 11 months ago #682194 by Jon East
Whats your budget?  You can buy used also to get better (stretching budget), but save a few bucks.  

Photo Comments
3 years 11 months ago #682198 by 2guns
I’m thinking around $500. Camera body only. I’m ordering the 24mm and 50 mm pancake lenses this week sometime. I’ve got a 35-105 is lens and a 75-300 Phoenix which is made by someone else now. A 70-200is lens and a few kit lenses. Nothing fancy but I like the image stabilizing lenses. KEH camera seems best deal on Pre owned.

3 years 11 months ago #682212 by Sawyer
Try www.mpb.com  

Also you might want to look at the Canon M50.

Canon 5D Mark II | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon 35L | Sigma 85 1.4 | Helios 44M-6 58mm(M42) | Zeiss 50mm 1.4 (C/Y) | Canon 135L | (2) 430EX II
Photo Comments
3 years 11 months ago #682288 by 2guns