Nikon Z6ii or Sony a7iv?

1 year 7 months ago #742204 by RIPbiker13
I'll start off that I use my Nikon D7500 often and on crime scenes because, well, that's my job, I'm a Detective. But crime scene photography is relatively easy. The subjects don't move, I can add light if I need to, and usually the task is to just capture the scene as it is discovered. I am not a beginner (but can always take advice), I shoot manual most of the time and have been in photography for several years. I find it rare to take advantage of Aperture or Shutter priority modes. I also have a film camera I enjoy. 

I am at a point where I would like to expand my gear and I don't necessarily want to buy into a lot of DX lenses knowing I'd like to use a full frame. My biggest complaint with the crop sensor is the view, full takes in more of the scene. 

In the Spring I've been asked to shoot a wedding. I warned I've never shot a wedding but the person wasn't planning on having a photographer and thought having a crime scene guy do it would be cool. I also ride and own a couple motorcycles and like to travel with my camera and get cool street side shots as I see things.

All this to say, I'd like to get a new camera and I'm really considering the Nikon Z6ii w/ NIKKOR Z 24-70mm f/4 S lens (not the Z6, I like the SDXC memory), or the Sony a7iv w/ FE 24-105mm F4 G OSS lens. The Sony comes in at $1000 more as a buy in price over the Nikon. 

Aside from work, I don't make money from my pictures, but as I progress I get small paying jobs. I'll be doing a photo shoot for a local that builds custom motorcycles and the wedding I was asked to shoot in the Spring. Beyond that, I just take my camera because I love it.