Photographing a party in a stretched limousine?

1 year 2 weeks ago #750614 by Whynaut
Good evening Photographytalk, I'm Charles and I'm a event photographer with a rather interesting question on a gig I picked up for next month.  I'm to photograph a 5 hour bar crawl of bachelor party with expected lengthy drives from a few of the places.  There will be heavy drinking I presume, smoking and tight space in the limo.  Honestly, I've not been in a limo before so not sure what to expect.  I'm hoping I might get some tips here.  In the bars, that is the easy part for me, I'm just not sure how it will be in a limo. 

Alright, thanks in advance for any help you can provide. 

Charles  

1 year 2 weeks ago #750639 by Esseff
Shooting from the hip here... a wide angle lens may be handy.

1 year 2 weeks ago #750700 by Sassy Girl
Night time?  I would use a blazing fast lens, slightly higher ISO.  A good good continuous light if you plan on shooting video.  Those cars usually have vibrant blue or reds in them that will look really nice on print/video.   If there is smoking, try to get shots with your light source on the smoke and the persons face, that contrast can create some dramatic shots.  

Photo Comments
1 year 2 weeks ago #750711 by CharleyL
Maybe you should be asking "what kind of smoke?"

Charley 

1 year 2 weeks ago #750726 by Hassner
I once went to give a friend a hand with a model shoot where she needed to smoke. 
By the 2nd try I noticed he was unhappy and asked him. 
He said he could hardly see the smoke.
I took the one light to a backlit position and told him to try again. 
He was so surprised, I was surprised that he did not know. 
It became a private standing joke between us.

So remember, if you want smoke, backlight it. 

This person is a posting maniac and deserves a #1 badge!Top Poster
No one kicks up there feet next to the water cooler better than this person.  Top poster - LoungeLounge Guru
Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: Esseff