Are there any other Hockey photographers out there ?

13 years 4 months ago #8368 by robpix4u2
Just wondering if there are any other action shooters out there to discuss hockey photography with in this forum. I shoot minor pro hockey at the ECHL level for www.prohockeynews.com and would like to network with some other shooters of similar interests. Naturally I would like to further my abilities so this discusssion about techniques etc. would be helpful. Also am willing to share my experiences with new shooters to help you get further along.

Attachments:
13 years 3 months ago #9457 by Richard K Photography
Nice shot, I haven't shot hockey before but would like to get into more sports photography. How long you been shooting hockey games?

Photo Comments
13 years 3 months ago #9542 by Rob pix4u2
I've been shooting hockey since 1993 but since 1996 have been shooting for a magazine called www.Prohockeynews.com ( formerly a print mag known as JUST HOCKEY) I also write for them as well covering the Cincinnati Cyclones of the ECHL. This is my 7th year as a writer/Photographer on the staff. Kind of fell into the writing part when our writer quit and I took over both duties. I used to cover the old IHL league and got my first cover in1997. I rarely miss a home game as I am on the hook to write bi-monthly columns/updates following the teams progress during the season. so far I have covered 3 of the past 4 Kelly Cup championships and had pix published along with the articles. I actually got started by asking the owner of the team if I could shoot in the press area back in 1993. The publisher of JUST HOCKEY approached me in 1996 about working for them on a regular basis. I love the work and the action is second to none except maybe shooting at the NHL level. Check out my gallery of pix that I have posted here on the site-3 hockey albums are online so far.

Remember to engage brain before putting mouth in gear
Rob Huelsman Sr.
My Facebook www.facebook.com/ImaginACTIONPhotography