New to commercial and not confident licensing images

6 years 8 months ago #534510 by [email protected]
Hello!

This is my first time posting and I'm excited to be a part of this community.  I have had my photography company for the last 8 years, we've done well with weddings but are ready to move on.  Over the years we have done plenty of commercial photography and have found that we love it.  The only thing is- we can't figure out how to price it.  Everything I read says to not start cheap and establish yourself as a low cost photographer but nothing I read gives specific examples.

All the shoots we've worked over the years have been either friends of the family or wedding related vendors.  Considering that as well as the fact that we have always been wedding photographers, it made no sense to suddenly charge licensing fees on these images.  But now we will be separating the commercial into a different brand and it should go more smoothly. 

So- I have my first potential client on the line.  I did a trade shoot with them for there event space (wedding related) and went ahead and shot a product shot to show them what I can do.  They loved the shot and I offered to shoot their entire line of products; they are a distillery.  So this is the quote that I shared with them only having a basic understanding of what I was doing.  

7 final images to be delivered- 1 for each product

Production- Full Day
$1,500 (includes 6 months of digital use for all images)

Full product Line 5 years website and social media use
$3,000

Individual Image 5 years magazine or billboard use
$1,000

Well, she was shocked by the numbers and I don't see them going for it.  Was I wrong? Is she uninformed? Do I stick to this type of pricing?  I know each person's market is different and mine in particular is full of folks who would do this for dirt cheap on a full buyout.