My camera won't take pictures at night

6 years 8 months ago #535531 by toritetel
I own a Nikon D5600. The lens I am using is the 55-200mm. I've been trying to take portraits but the camera will not allow me to. I'm zoomed in all the way at 200, and I would like to take pictures at this zoom, are there any settings I should change? If I used an external LED light would that help? I tried switching to manual mode but it still will not take the picture. Also, I am a beginner and still learning. 

6 years 8 months ago #535620 by Shadowfixer1
Your problem is more than likely the camera can't achieve focus in the dim light. There are many solutions to the issue from manual focus, to using a flash light to light the subject enough to get focus. The zoom you are using doesn't have a large aperture thus it requires more light to achieve proper exposure. You are compounding the issue by zooming out to 200 mm. The more you zoom, the smaller the aperture becomes thus cutting existing light and making it necessary to add light onto the subject for the cameras focusing system. This is just the tip of the iceberg and there are many solutions to the problem. Using a flash (speedlight) is the most obvious solution.  
6 years 8 months ago - 6 years 8 months ago #535625 by Shadowfixer1
One more thing. When you say you went to manual mode, you need to specify. There is manual exposure and manual focusing. I would say you meant manual exposure since you used the word "mode" but that's a guess. This is information people need to know in order for them to help.
6 years 8 months ago #535715 by toritetel
Again, I'm a beginner so I didn't think of mentioning that. On the side of my camera lens there is a switch that allows me to switch to manual focus, so that is what I meant. How would I change to manual exposure?

6 years 8 months ago #535812 by Screamin Scott