shooting jpeg or raw

13 years 6 months ago #1784 by aprileye
I have been using DSLRs for a couple of years now, and am wondering what are the differences between shooting jpg and shooting raw? I do know that raw files take up more hard disk space.

13 years 6 months ago #1854 by imit8er
Some photographers have a preference and a reason for it but I would say shoot in jpeg so you can fit more pictures on your memory card.

13 years 4 months ago #8241 by wagaboo
If you want a no nonsense approach, then use JPG BUT if you want total control over your photos in post processing then RAW is what you want . When I'm doing wildlife, scenery etc where the color contrasts are high then I use JPG

13 years 4 months ago #8275 by Nod
wagaboo has it right, you can do a lot more in post-processing with a raw file.

13 years 4 months ago #8287 by Screamin Scott
Think of a "raw" file as a negative....It has all of the pertinent data stored on it from when the shutter was snapped. Then a Jpg is like a print that you get from a photofinisher. What, you say the color wasn't right on the print? Neither was the sharpness?....Raw files are a lossless format whereas Jpegs are lossy. What that means in layman terms is that with a jpeg file, whenever you open it up, make an adjustment & save your work, the file is compressed & in the compression, loses some of the data. Do repeated adjustments over time & it can really affect the printed image. When you post process a raw file, the information being changed is kept in a seperate little "sidecar" file & the original data is kept intact....Practically speaking, raw files are more forgiving of errors you make as a photographer. They allow you more control over the finished product. Jpeg files are produced by the camera makers software algorithm (which you have some control over in the menu system on your camera)

Scott Ditzel Photography

www.flickr.com/photos/screaminscott/

Photo Comments
13 years 4 months ago #8290 by Yasko