What is slowest shutter speed while hand held camera?

10 years 2 months ago #5026 by April77
Is there a rule of thumb when hand holding your camera? I have made the move to starting to shoot more in manual mode rather than the automatic settings. Yes I'm a newbie in photography. I've noticed that I can shoot around 1/30 and I start losing some clarity. Either way I think I might need to get a tripod.

April

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

10 years 2 months ago #5029 by Screamin Scott
The rule back in film days was 1/focal length. Thus a 200mm lens requires a 1/200th shutter speed (it will actually be 1/250th on the camea as there is no 1/200th) If you brace well & don't hold your breath, you can get another stop. With "crop" sensor cameras this changes. A 200mm lens has the FOV of a 300mm lens on a Nikon 1.5x crop camera & thus you would need a shutter speed of 1/300. A 100mm setting would need a shutter speed of 1/150th (you could likely get by with the 1/125th)...Hope this helps! And yes, a good tripod works wonders...

Scott Ditzel Photography

www.flickr.com/photos/screaminscott/

Photo Comments

10 years 2 months ago #5031 by Tennis Guy

Screamin Scott wrote: The rule back in film days was 1/focal length. Thus a 200mm lens requires a 1/200th shutter speed (it will actually be 1/250th on the camea as there is no 1/200th) If you brace well & don't hold your breath, you can get another stop. With "crop" sensor cameras this changes. A 200mm lens has the FOV of a 300mm lens on a Nikon 1.5x crop camera & thus you would need a shutter speed of 1/300. A 100mm setting would need a shutter speed of 1/150th (you could likely get by with the 1/125th)...Hope this helps! And yes, a good tripod works wonders...

I agree, very good post

10 years 2 months ago #5032 by Dan Dangerfield
Anything under 1/100 I will shoot with tripod. Depends also on your lens, do you have VR (vibration reduction)?

10 years 2 months ago #5091 by April77