Thoughts on purchasing a Canon PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II Brand New in the box without warranty?

9 years 4 months ago - 9 years 4 months ago #415974 by woodcycl
I have an opportunity to buy a Canon PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II still-in-the-box in original packaging, but box opened for inspection for ONLY $150.  She has a copy of the original receipt showing the $399 price.  I haven't inspected in person yet.  But, assuming all is well and as expected, is there any reason not to go forward with it?  The only thing I can think of is if it is DOA after setting it up.  I'd be out $150 since I have no warranty ... buying second-hand.

Hard for me to pass up tbh.

Thoughts?  

9 years 4 months ago #415978 by Alex
Ahhh we meet again! 

Seriously... this is a great printer Brian.  I've been using this printer for nearly 3 years. $150 seems like a solid price.  I'd go for it. 

Thank you for making PhotographyTalk.com your photography community of choice.
Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: woodcycl
9 years 4 months ago #415979 by woodcycl
Thanks Alex ... yeah, same thing I was thinking!

Appreciate the first-hand experience and referral.

9 years 4 months ago #415994 by One Wish
$150 is a good price for that printer.  I'd find out what ink they have been using in it.  If it's not Canon and some sort of aftermarket, your ink heads might be mucked up a bit.  That could require a professional cleaning.  

Photo Comments
9 years 4 months ago #415998 by woodcycl
Thanks One wish. The printer is still in original OEM packaging ... never unpacked. Only taken out of box to inspect. Printer, ink cartridges, etc. still in shrinkwrap and similar. I'm going to see it this afternoon ... hoping all is as described!

9 years 4 months ago #416017 by icepics
I have a Canon Pixma but a different model that I bought from Adorama and it's worked well for me.