Non-Geek Speek magazine?

13 years 4 months ago #10765 by mari_mari
Hi. Can anybody recommend a photography journal or magazine of some kind that gives the reader an update on what's new and various new technigues but that ISN'T written in "geek speek." I want to learn but all the technical language is over my head.

13 years 4 months ago #10782 by Rob pix4u2
Popular Photography comes to mind but actually the beginner articles here on this site should do you well for learning the basics. Specifically what are you having trouble with understanding?
Kodak makes a lot of books that cover the basics too. Let us all know what you need help with as most of those who are self taught learned by trial and error and the ones with formal education have great knowledge to share as well

Remember to engage brain before putting mouth in gear
Rob Huelsman Sr.
My Facebook www.facebook.com/ImaginACTIONPhotography

13 years 4 months ago #10797 by bhowdy
I have found the "Magic Lantern Guides" to be very helpful for each of the camera bodies that I own. These are not general photography type books, but are specific to a camera type and model.

Magic Lantern on Amazon

Bob Howdeshell

"If I could tell the story in words, I wouldn't need to lug around a camera" ~ Lewis Hine

13 years 4 months ago #10805 by Screamin Scott
+1 for the "Magic Lantern" guides, but any time you are confused by a term, just "google" it & lots of info explaining it will show with the Wiki articles being one of the better ones

Scott Ditzel Photography

www.flickr.com/photos/screaminscott/

Photo Comments
13 years 3 months ago #11073 by NormC
Yes. Tye the Photo Technique Publication at www.phototechmag.com/

13 years 3 months ago #11291 by crystal
That's great you want to learn. But you need to learn the photography terms first before you go ahead and learn how to shoot. What's the point in reading photography magazines/articles if you do not understand photography terms?

Google or ask us what something means.