One lens for a wedding?

12 years 5 months ago #176913 by Jo0c7
I am not a pro photographer, but I want to take pictures of my friends wedding. They plan on hiring a professional photographer but they insisted they still want me to take some photos. So my question is what is one type of lens that I need to shoot the wedding with. I have a Nikon D50.
Thanks.

12 years 5 months ago #176919 by john_m
Never shot a wedding before so this is just a stab.....I would imagine that you would want something wide. What lens [es] do you have now. I know you said that you are not a pro photographer so I will not say Nikon 17-55. Do you have the 55-200 (may have came in as part of the D50 kit)? If so, I would try using that lens. This way you will still be able to shoot parts of the wedding but wont be intrusive to the paid photographer. Either way, best of luck and post up your results afterwards!

Nikon D200
Nikon 50mm f1.8D, Tokina 28-80 f2.8, Nikon 75-300, Sigma 18-200, Nikon SB-600, Nikon SB-25, Promaster triggers

12 years 5 months ago - 12 years 5 months ago #176930 by kk6600
18-55 could work

12 years 5 months ago #176931 by ko98
Since you are not the hiring photographer. You could rent or buy (if you have the money) a 70-200 f2.8.

12 years 5 months ago #176932 by Jo0c7

kk6600 wrote: 18-55 could work

That is the only lens I have and to be honest, there are times I do not like the quality. However I never bought a new lens to replace it because up until now I have just been taking pictures of my kids. So it was no big deal. But now I would like a nice lens to shoot the wedding.

12 years 5 months ago #176935 by Jo0c7
If there is one lens that is a great all around lens I have no problem buying it. I just need to know what it is. I had the 18-55 for so long, I am ready to upgrade and spend money if need too (not thousands, but enough)

12 years 5 months ago #176937 by john_m