Difficulties capturing Motion

5 years 1 month ago #635903 by Henneke
Hi everyone, 

I'm pretty new in photography just bought my first DSLR (200D/SL2) after having borrowed a lower end Sony mirrorless for a few weeks. This weekend I went out practicing to capture some motion, namely shooting my dogs running around. Those are pretty fast so, it's been quite a challenge for me.

I'm really struggeling with getting the most of the pictures sharp here and I'm not sure what the problem is. I've read a lot and learned quite a bit of theory already, but out in the field I tend to suck a lot! :D

I've attached two pictures that show my difficulty. I was running AI Servo AF with a single center AF point. At least the dog's body should have been in focus. Sure, there are always shots where the AF doesn't work that well, but out of 100 pictures I get like one or two that are acceptable.

How can I improve? I'm trying to blame myself in the first place rather than the gear here. 200D with Kit Lens isn't the greatest deal, but still It should be able to take better pictures.
  • Am I doing the focussing wrong? I'm following my subject with the center AF point and I've improved a lot in "aiming" already. While following I shoot continuosly at some point, while still doing an okay job of keeping the subject on that point. What am I doing wrong?
  • Have I got the proper settings? 1/800th should be quick enough, I'm running the kit lens at f5.6 at 55mm, ISO auto, in this case 640/320 
Can anyone help me figure out how I can Improve? I'd love to hear from you, thank you a lot!

Attachments:
5 years 1 month ago - 5 years 1 month ago #635987 by garyrhook
You need dynamic AF to track your subject, practicing keeping a single focus point on  your subject, and appropriate exposure.

Practice your subject tracking.

As for shutter speed, why do you think 1/800s is adequate? I mean, by what logic did you arrive at that conclusion? (That's a sincere question, by the way...)