Confused regarding flash Guide Numbers

4 weeks 1 day ago #673093 by Liem Stailey
Good morning guys.  I'm shopping for an external flash and these guide numbers have me running around in circles.  When a flash has a guide  number of XXX, what in the world does this number mean?  Im a beginner and at least for me, this seems complicated.  LOL I just wanted  a flash to use while practicing my portraits.

When you are shopping around for a flash. Can I ask what are you looking at aside from price point?

You all are awesome, thank you in advance!

P.S.  if this basic question, just something I don't  understand!!

Photo Comments

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 weeks 1 day ago #673099 by Shadowfixer1
Guide number relates to output. The larger the guide number the more power it has which means you will get more distance to the subject to work with. The more power also means you can shoot it at a lower power when closer to the subject which gives you more control.

4 weeks 1 day ago #673107 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Liem

"yes" the GN as quoted relates to the power of the flash and it is made up from a simple calc of "Aperture x Distance" at a specific ISO, with 100-ISO being the industry standard

So for a GN of 80 say, it suggests that F8 will expose correctly at 10Ft if the GN is quoted as GN-80 (ft). It may also be quoted as GN-24(metres) as F8 x 3metres is the same as F8 x 10Ft

Hope this helps
Phil from the great land Downunder
www.flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

4 weeks 23 hours ago #673124 by Liem Stailey
OK, thank you both.  I'm better now and have a clearer idea about guide numbers.  Thank you!

Photo Comments

4 weeks 10 hours ago #673168 by fmw