In my camera bag..

12 years 5 months ago #178960 by Kryddle
I have my Canon T3i, 18-55mm, and my 50mm f1.8 lenses. I am currently looking into getting a flash, Either the 430 or 580 exii (still undetermined)
But I am really concerned about which lens I should start saving up for. I am a photographer of all sorts but mainly portrait and kids. When I travel its of landspaces. I already use my 50mm for portraits and love it but I have been eyeing the 85mm 1.8, Canon 135 2.0, and the Canon 70-200mm 2.8L (these are all going off mental notes so bare with me if I am a little off) But I am trying to find something fast and sharp. I am just clueless on what should be my best option and not buying something similar to my 50. Suggestions PLEASE :) Even if its not one I listed I am open to ideas (just keep in mind I cannot afford a $2,000 lens.)

12 years 5 months ago #178962 by village rat
Well the 85mm is a very nice lens. It seems as if you know really what field you like to shoot in..portraits. So it may be best to get the 85mm. However do you ever wish you had a zoom lens? I you have the kit lens 18-55, but do you want more zoom. You mention the 70-200, which would be nice for portraits. You can be further away from your subjects and zoom in on them. You could also use it on landscapes if you wish and near wildlife.

In the end the lens you get is up to you, what you main shooting is.

12 years 5 months ago #178967 by john_m