Editing/Printing

11 years 7 months ago #251359 by SeaJay
Hi, I am new to Photography (been taking pictures for 50 years) and need basic help. I took some ocean sunrise pictures that I feel turned out ok, but my editing or printing is not adiquate to get a good print. I only have Adobe Photoshope or Windows Live Photo Gallery to do basic editing, and get a suitable image on my monitor. When I try to print, the results are not very good. My printer is a Canon Inkjet PIXMA iP6000D. The Results are probibly best described as washed out? or having a yellowish over tint? Is there a setting I'm missing, or is the software or hardware completely inadequate. I am not looking for professional results, but would like to be able to print what I see on my monitor. Any and all help and advise is greatly appreciated. Trying to attach one of the pictures, hope it works

11 years 7 months ago #251364 by KCook
My Canon inkjet printer is also a struggle. In most cases I need to come up with a custom tone curve for each print. In the worst cases I use masking to create an adjustment layer for the problem areas of the image. This is all very time consuming, at this point I think I am on my last Canon printer, will take a serious look at other printer brands soon.

Kelly Cook

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

The following user(s) said Thank You: SeaJay
11 years 7 months ago #251369 by Henry Peach
Printing requires it's own skill set. If color accuracy and quality prints are desired it's never just a push of a button or changing a setting. You will need to invest time to study and practice if you want to make your own high quality, color accurate, ink-jet prints.

The process of going from monitor to print is complicated, and there could be many places where mistakes are being made. Start by studying "color management". That will help you sort out your problems.