Seriously considering switching brands, any thoughts?

10 years 10 months ago #284972 by rmeyer7
I usually tell people it's not worth switching once you're invested in one system. But the more I think about it the more it seems to make sense.

Here are my reasons...
1) What I want is a full-frame body with good low-light/high ISO capability and AF
2) The Canon that best suits what I want is the 5Diii, which costs around $3,300 to $3,500
3) The D600 has exactly the features I want and is almost $1,500 less while having better IQ and high ISO performance
4) Video quality isn't a big factor, the D600 is good enough for any video shooting I might decide to do
5) I think the cross-type AF points on the D600 should be sufficient for me too, I'm not a pro sports photographer after all
6) D600 plus a 24-70 (used in EX condition from KEH) would be roughly the same price as a 5Diii alone, and I can probably make up a good percentage of the purchase by selling my 5D, lenses and speedlights, so my out-of-pocket expense is lower with the Nikon

It seems like the 6D was supposed to be the competitor to the D600...yet the D600 not only mops the floor with it but also competes with (and in some ways beats) the higher-end 5Diii. So what are the good reasons to not switch?

10 years 10 months ago #284991 by KCook
While I do use high ISO occasionally, the noise that comes with it does not bother me that much. I would be inclined to decide this on specific lenses.

Kelly

Canon 50D, Olympus PL2
kellycook.zenfolio.com/

10 years 10 months ago #285003 by garyrhook

rmeyer7 wrote: So what are the good reasons to not switch?

Can't think of any. You've covered the points relevant to your situation. If the tool fits....

Photo Comments
10 years 10 months ago #285066 by rmeyer7
Half of me was hoping someone would talk me out of this...I guess half of me is a Canon fanboy.