Recommend a camera with good auto focus and decent JPEG files in $500-600 .

2 months 3 weeks ago #646560 by Eljo-Anthony-N-J
Hi !
I'm a newbie when it comes to shooting pics with a dedicated camera (though I had a Samsung zoom camera for a while). My main purpose is taking pics of my toddlers . So, I think I need a camera with fast autofocus and optical image stabilization.
I would appreciate your recommendations and opinions. 

I'm from India and the prices of cameras are higher than in the US. So, I plan to buy from sites like newegg and ship it to UAE (my brother is there). UAE charges 5%+5% (import tax+VAT) but that would still be lower than the amount India customs would charge.

cheers!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 months 3 weeks ago #646675 by garyrhook
AF is a by-product of the camera body and the lens. And you might want fast glass if you're dealing with kids.

That said, you might want to look at a Panasonic Lumix solution, or a micro 4/3s system. Both might be out of your budget, which leads to looking at used equipment.

As for decent JPGs, that's not an objective assessment, but most real cameras will do better than mobile phones in that area (IMNSHO).

Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: Eljo-Anthony-N-J

2 months 3 weeks ago #646686 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Eljo

I would also suggest a Panny solution - mostly because I use that equipment and find it excellent in value and overall performance

If you want interchangeable lenses - then consider one of the GH - m4/3 models [refer to DP Review.com for specs and reviews] or if you want an all-in-one camera, seriously consider the FZ-300/330. Also a great camera with all the usual high-end features plus video should you want to record the children's activities

Hope this helps
Phil from the great land Downunder
www.flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

2 months 3 weeks ago - 2 months 3 weeks ago #646711 by Eljo-Anthony-N-J