Boudoir photography

12 years 3 weeks ago #218703 by OleanderGal
I've been shooting portraits in my home studio for a few years now. I love it but I feel like I want to expand my scope. I've been checking out some boudoir photographer's websites and it really looks like fun.

So on to the questions.

I've heard it's great to market to brides around their wedding time cus many of them have lost weight and are looking their best. But do you think they would just go for their wedding photographer for that? (I do NOT want to do weddings!)

What kind of props and backgrounds would you suggest?

Do you think me being female would be a selling point or a hinderance? I'm sure ever client is different but I get the feeling with something as intimate as boudoir photos, gender would definitely play a role for some

Thanks in advance!

Love your life! Do it right!
12 years 3 weeks ago #219124 by crystal
I don't think brides will seek wedding photographers to shoot boudoir photography, mainly because wedding photographers are naturally more expensive then the typical portrait photographer. Unless of course the wedding photographer also shoots portraits, then they would have two different pricing. Also there are many photographers who do not specialize in boudoir. So I wouldn't be afraid to market boudoir photography to brides and any woman for any given time... especially around Valentine's Day.