I Need A Crash Course In Wedding Photography! :-O

12 years 6 months ago #156604 by Donlaczi
I was asked a couple days ago by a couple cycling friends to shoot their "Very Non-Traditional" Wedding this coming November. The wedding consist or Non-traditional wedding gown, a tandem bike and a hill climb. The couple will ride their bikes to the Altar and will ride a tandem bike when they are pronounced as hubby and wifey. The wedding will be held at the out look center of Red Rock Canyon, here in Las Vegas. I'm an amateur sports photographer and I haven't shot any Weddings before.. I am honestly a little bit intimidated to shoot weddings.... I already declined two weddings because of my fear from it. Wedding photography is like the Dark Side of the force for me! LOL Honest reason is, A wedding is a very memorable moment for two people who love each other. And I think going out there and pretending that you know what you are doing would be a bad idea. I know it's a non traditional wedding. more like a cycling event with a bow tie, really. But still, I just don't want to ruin the lovely day.

But I guess right now, I need to face the fear... And I need the help from all my buddies here in Photography Talk! A few tips and tricks, advice, words of encouragement would be great! :) I don't want to look like an idiot with a camera out there! LOL

Any advice?

12 years 6 months ago #156623 by rmeyer7
First and foremost, talk about some details with the couple! It could be that, since their wedding is so unique and resembles, as you put it, a cycling event with a bow-tie, they want some of the photos to be shot like you're covering a cycling event.