Pet photo - Any feedback?

12 years 3 months ago #193274 by Kevin T. Cary
Hi,

I am starting some Pet Photography and I'd like to know if I'm on the right track, what I could change, do better, etc. This concerns everything, from WB, to composition, to post-processing...
Feel free to give me your opinion. :)
Thanks!

Self-taught photographer wannabe.
Attachments:
12 years 3 months ago #193296 by Alex
I like the shot, now I might be wrong but the focus looks to be on the blanket rather than the cats face/eyes? I would personally like to see more sharpness in the face/eyes. :thumbsup:

Thank you for making PhotographyTalk.com your photography community of choice.
Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kevin T. Cary
12 years 3 months ago #193305 by McBeth Photography
I agree with Alex about the focus. I have one other thought, custom white balance might be a good idea for pet owners that expect their pet's portrait to look exactly like their pet.

I'm sure there is money in pet photography though, pets are a valued part of the family.

It is what it is.
12 years 3 months ago #193373 by Kevin T. Cary
Firstly, thanks for your feedback!
Now, about sharpness and focus, the thing is that I am using a rather old camera (EOS 350D :( ) and a Sigma 50 f/1.4. I did focus on the eyes, but it seems indeed that the focus isn't quite there (front focusing?). Also, I shot at f/1.4, and even though it's a prime lens, I guess the sharpness isn't that great wide open... Do you guys think these might be the reasons?

12 years 3 months ago #193380 by john_m
Yes....Try shooting again at say f4 and you will see how sharp that lens can actually shoot.

Nikon D200
Nikon 50mm f1.8D, Tokina 28-80 f2.8, Nikon 75-300, Sigma 18-200, Nikon SB-600, Nikon SB-25, Promaster triggers

12 years 3 months ago #193506 by Kevin T. Cary