Equine head shot project

5 years 4 months ago #618806 by Troponin
I have been snapping photos at a local ranch for a few months now. The owner approached me and asked if I could get some head shots of her “lesson horses”; retired horses she uses for giving beginner’s lessons on. The photos are going to be put up in the lounge so that new clients can see photos and read about the horses before they meet them. 

I just wanted to share the set. My skills have improved so much and I feel very blessed having been given this opportunity, but still feel I have a loooong way to go. As it turns out, the owner also won the national amateur riding championships this year and has asked me to take photos of her new show horse that will get published in several riding magazines this next season. I am up for the challenge, but I feel my abilities are still far from where they need to be. Any feedback would be appreciated. 

Make: SONY
Model: ILCE-7RM3
Lens: FE 85mm F1.4 GM
ISO: 100
Aperture: f/1.4
Shutter speed: 1/3200 sec
Captured: Tue, 27 Nov 2018 9:47am
Lens: FE 85mm F1.4 GM
ISO: 100
Aperture: f/1.4
Shutter speed: 1/5000 sec
Captured: Tue, 27 Nov 2018 9:55am

Photo Comments
5 years 4 months ago #618812 by Troponin

Photo Comments
Attachments:
5 years 4 months ago #618820 by GaryA

Troponin wrote:

My fave, the others, while are quite nice, aren't as 'natural', (for lack of a better word), as the posts and lanyard/reins are distractions. Overall a nice job.  The owner should be quite happy.

There are photographs everywhere. It is the call of photographers to see and capture those images.
www: garyayala.com

The following user(s) said Thank You: Troponin
5 years 4 months ago #618823 by Troponin

GaryA wrote:

Troponin wrote:

My fave, the others, while are quite nice, aren't as 'natural', (for lack of a better word), as the posts and lanyard/reins are distractions. Overall a nice job.  The owner should be quite happy.