brand quality

13 years 2 weeks ago #42942 by D Thompson
I have just stepped into the digital SLR world with a used Nikon D40.

I figured since Im going to be experimenting with this camera I might as well buy a couple of lenses and filters. (or maybe not ) Needless to say I was looking through all the ebay stuff and was wondering if any of these brands is even worth it.

Bower
Mercury
Crystal Optics

I was thinking about getting an add on wide angle lens and some filters. Would any of these brands be worth it?

13 years 2 weeks ago #42943 by Puter
Would love to help you, but I am also fairly new to photography. So all I can say is.. buy the best.

13 years 2 weeks ago #42944 by D Thompson
Yea but I don't know what the best is.

13 years 2 weeks ago #42945 by bcap fish
Personally, I wouldn't bother with any of that junk.

Just use the camera and the lens that you have. It will be much harder to discover the potential of the gear you have, if you add crappy accesories to it.

13 years 2 weeks ago #42963 by Screamin Scott
Those brands are not worth the money...Save up & get true lenses, not these "screw on to your existing lens" accessories

Scott Ditzel Photography

www.flickr.com/photos/screaminscott/

Photo Comments
13 years 2 weeks ago #42990 by photobod
You own a Nikon, so buy Nikon, it makes sense, there are plenty of Nikon products to buy second hand. :thumbsup:

www.dcimages.org.uk
"A good photograph is one that communicate a fact, touches the heart, leaves the viewer a changed person for having seen it. It is, in a word, effective." - Irving Penn

13 years 2 weeks ago #43146 by Stealthy Ninja

photobod wrote: You own a Nikon, so buy Nikon, it makes sense, there are plenty of Nikon products to buy second hand. :thumbsup:

True, but Sigma make some fine lenses for Nikon. Namely the 50 1.4 and the 85 1.4. Both IMHO are better (and cheaper) than their nikon counterparts.
13 years 2 weeks ago #43181 by McBeth Photography