Just Got a Nikon D80 And Need Help

13 years 6 months ago #2301 by gordon
My wife just suprised me with a new nikon D80 for my birthday. I am new to photography so please bear with me as I learn. The camera has a 18-135 lens is this a good to do macro work with this camera, or do I need to invest in another lens? Also if you have any pointers to help me with this new camera.

13 years 5 months ago #6542 by DaveO
Close up lenses are a cheap way to get into macro photography, extension tubes are more expensive and lose a lot of light. If you have a 50mm lens you can buy a reversal ring to reverse the lens on the camera and get very close. Of course you have to focus and adjust aperature manually.

DaveO

13 years 5 months ago #7629 by Rob pix4u2
Go ahead and buy a macro lense as it will be the easiest to work with as a beginner. I have used my macro to take stunning butterfly pix at the local conservatory butterfly show. I have to admit that it isn't a nikon but it was affordable at the time and has served me well over the years. I own a D80 body and am very pleased with it also. It is the camera that goes everywhere with me in case there is an opportunity to get a shot or some pix that require more resolution than a cellular phone. As a Nikon shooter since the 1980's I found the D80 to be easy to learn and use. Until recently it was my primary digital body as I have an upgrade to a D90 now. Also try to use a camera support such as a monopod or tripod for macro work as your pix will be that much sharper when shooting small objects and bugs,flowers etc. Good luck and happy shooting.

Remember to engage brain before putting mouth in gear
Rob Huelsman Sr.
My Facebook www.facebook.com/ImaginACTIONPhotography

13 years 5 months ago #7632 by Screamin Scott