Lumix DMC-FZ70 won’t playback videos on camera screen

5 months 4 days ago #719834 by SkyeCrath
I am new to the forum and am hoping for some help. I’ve been using a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 for about 5 years now with no problems. But for the last few months I have not been able to playback video on the camera's LCD screen, which is something I used to do all the time. I noticed it a few months ago and the problem has been constant ever since. The video records fine, and it playbacks perfectly once I transfer the video file to my laptop. But when I try to playback the video file on the camera, it just shows up as a still image. I've tested a few different SD cards, different brands and sizes, but still no video playback on the camera screen. I haven't dropped the camera and there hasn't been any other sort of physical damage. I checked the camera Settings and Playback mode is turned On. I'm a very basic user, just modes iA, Automatic and  SCN. I don't intentionally mess with any of the advanced settings, but maybe I changed something accidentally? Or pressed a button I shouldn't have? I didn't realize how much I used this video playback feature until it stopped working,  Any advice would be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 months 4 days ago #719862 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day SC

As a fellow Panny FZ user - WELCOME to the forum .... there is plenty of knowledge here and a willingness to exchange it :)

I do not use the video features - sorry for not giving you an immediate answer
I will investigate your difficulties today and give you an answer - should I find one - tomorrow :p

Hope this helps
Phil from the great land Downunder
www.flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

5 months 4 days ago #719868 by Ozzie_Traveller
Hi SC

On page 163 of the user manual there is a discussion regarding playing of videos and still images.