My Danica Patrick makeover

12 years 7 months ago - 12 years 7 months ago #142783 by John37
This is my very first attempt to make someone over using a program. I have no idea how to apply makeup so this was somewhat of a challenge. I googled pics of women without makeup so I could practice. What are your thoughts? Hopefully Danica would like what I've done! I should probably say that I wasn't necessarily going for a completely natural look. I just wanted to use the tools in the program.

here's the before

and here's after.... thank you!

"The most endangered species? The honest man!"
Attachments:
12 years 7 months ago - 12 years 7 months ago #142785 by MLKstudios
I'm old, and learned on film. We didn't have the tools in post back then you have now.

My advice, is to hire a makeup artiste (with the e), and try to get as perfect as possible in camera, so you have very little to do in post.

I just see a made up, plastic person in the final version. Not even human.

But hey, I could be wrong. :)

Matthew L Kees
MLK Studios Photography School
www.MLKstudios.com
[email protected]
"Every artist, was once an amateur"

12 years 7 months ago - 12 years 7 months ago #142813 by John37
:lol: I guess that's one way to look at it...

I've been shooting since late June of 2011, and working on this program for the same amount of time. Though I appreciate your advice, and share your enthusiasam for the purist approach, I'm certainly not in the mindset to even begin thinking about an actual photoshoot that would require a make-up artist. You are correct about the final version.... it is a made up person that was my experiment. I did say I wasn't going for realism. :lol:

Here's another one that I did this evening. Though not to my liking as of yet, it's a little closer to 'real', which is what I was going for. This one was a little more difficult. The ladies in my office picked this one out.

Before

After

Attachments: