1st Portrait Session -- Feedback, Please

11 years 8 months ago #243977 by garyrhook
This is my first attempt at portraiture. I had the privilege of doing a maternity session with a young couple after convincing them to be guinea pigs for me, and would appreciate any/all comments on the results. Don't be shy :-)

Most shots were taken with a Tamron 28-75 full out on a D5100, during evening hours. This makes me want to get an 85mm f/1.8 for this type of work.

There needs to be a way to refer to photos from one's PT albums... rather than uploading anew.

Photo Comments
Attachments:
11 years 8 months ago #243978 by Darrell
Picture #1, I would suggest showing more belly, Pics 2 & 3 are nice, pic #4 has some nice light effects but some over exposure and lens glare. :beerbang:

You will not be judged as a photographer by the pictures you take, but by the pictures you show.
11 years 8 months ago #244013 by icepics
Darrell's spot on as usual. I think with the first one too that the tree frames them nicely but that edge of a stone wall to the left seems distracting, I found my eyes wanting to go to it.

Maybe a vertical shot would have worked?? might have kept more of the mom-to-be's tummy showing. Or the horizontal shot reframed to keep that stone edge out of shot and a bit more of the couple's hands over her tummy in.

Sharon
Photo Comments
11 years 8 months ago - 11 years 8 months ago #244031 by Joiemagic
:agree:
I agree about #1... More belly and loose the wall on the right side. Their pose is perfect for the shot and what you were trying to convery. Added note... the hands/fingers being chopped off takes a bit away also. Overall, it is a good shot, just some room for improvement.

#2 & 3 are good shots, especially #3. I would say that is my favorite shot of the set.

Good work...

Joie Fadde
Fadde Photography / Sports Shots, Etc.
"Capturing the Timeless Moments of Life"

On Flickr
www.flickr.com/photos/faddephotography/

The following user(s) said Thank You: garyrhook