The process of taking a photo

5 years 9 months ago #589796 by Banceris
Hello,
I'm a beginner and this is my first post here. I don't have any problems with composition, it's the shooting that makes me look at other photographers rather than shoot myself. I'm quite interested in street photography or photography in general, but seeing old footage of pro photographers when they shoot is amazing and at the same time frustrating as hell. It seems like they don't really care about the settings or they adjust them very fast and they usually don't look through their viewfinders. They act almost if it was accidental. 

When I adjust everything, the action is already gone and the potentially great photo is lost. Now I kind of regret getting full manual film camera. 

Also, where to find actually useful info about settings instead of the usual basic "how it works" overview which is the same on every website and doesn't help at all. I think there's more to the settings and what's most important is how they work together.  

I've never thought photography could be that frustrating.

5 years 9 months ago #590060 by garyrhook
Only because you're mixing a lot of things up.

Street photography is one type/style of work, and has it's own requirements that have perhaps nothing to do with other types (portrait, architecture, sports, etc). If you're going to research, you need to focus on one thing.