advice or tips please

11 years 1 week ago #3789 by tommygrl
Hey all. Recently bought a Canon XS to make the transition from Point and Shoot to a DSLR. I bought a few very basic shoot through umbrellas just to have some fun with in the house. With winter coming, my days of roaming the neighborhood to practice are limited so I thought it would be fun to have my poor children become my victims. Anyway...I am a beginner. I am learning. I've read countless books and watched tutorials for hours. And I am completely at a loss with indoor lighting. My subject is lit up like a Christmas tree! I have tried single lighting, multiple lights, and reflectors and all with the same results....DARK DARK DARK or the shutter speed is so incredibly slow that even with a tripod it isn't practical. In one of the many videos I watched it was mentioned that a shutter speed of 1/125, ISO of 100 and F4-5.6 should yield good results. Ha!! You can't even see my kid! I am thinking I missed something fundamental here and am probably embarrassing myself by even asking. But I'm desperate! Any advice or tips would be appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

11 years 1 week ago #4005 by Gil
I learned from reading about flash and strobes the best setting to get use to using is Manual mode. I generally use one to three Canon flashes. One being the Master (on camera shoe) and the others as slaves. You did not mention which flash units you were using bit the Canon flashes will "talk" to the Canon camera.
Sounds like you have been to a lot of flash sites but this may help a bit more:

www.bobatkins.com/photography/eosfaq/flashfaq.htm