30 Days of Tuscany- Day 22- VIEW OF VAL D' ORCIA

10 years 8 months ago #293513 by Tuscan Muse
This is a view of the Val d' Orcia as seen from Seggiano, Tuscany.

tuscanmuse.com/

Attachments:
10 years 8 months ago #293517 by garyrhook
It's unfortunate that this wasn't a raw file. It could be quite nice after removing the blue cast and working to bring out details in the clouds. (And leveling the horizon.) I really like the shapes and colors of the fields/trees.

Photo Comments
10 years 8 months ago #293518 by Don Fischer
Gotta know, how can you tell it's not a raw file?

10 years 8 months ago #293519 by Tuscan Muse
Thanks for taking a look Gary. As you probably know, I am an amateur. Post processing is a booger for me. All I did to this photo was done in PS- I took Vibrance to 30 and Saturation to 12. That's it. So you are recommending that I fiddle with the color balance to remove the blue cast. I really want to understand why I would want to do that.

Thanks!
10 years 8 months ago #293539 by garyrhook
Unfortunately, there's only so much that I can do with this smaller, already-manipulated image.

I tried to undo the blue cast by adjusting temperature and tint; added a graduated filter of the sky to lower the exposure / bump the clarity to bring out the details in the clouds (including that hole in them), bumped the overall contrast, a bit of clarity to bring out the details in the land, straighetened it a bit (based on the line of clouds), sharpened a bit, and tried to fix some of the color with HSL adjustments, all in Lightroom 4. But again, there's only so much I can do with an already processed image.