Carbon fiber vs aluminum tripods?

1 year 3 months ago #747232 by Petroguy
In case you missed my other post here.  I'm brand new to photography and just picking up all my gear right now.  I know how important a good tripod is from my dad back in the day.  However now that I'm looking these things up, I see there are so many choices!  

Starting off, which is best for someone getting started, carbon fiber or aluminum?  

1 year 3 months ago #747236 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day mate

A lot of the answer/s to your Q will be "it depends"

Personally all my tripods are aluminium legs and the 20-yr old ones are still in good nik as they have always been looked after ... and not placed into the ocean for 'smooth water' pics

Your primary need for a tripod is for
a) something that will not vibrate in the breeze,
b) something that when opened to its nominal full height brings the camera to your eye level, and
c) one that when closed will easily be carried around
and then it comes down to
d) price vs your budget

Your tripod and its head will have some label stating the weight that it is designed to carry ... choose that or a bit more (ie: your heaviest camera+lens might come in at 3kg so choose a 5kg unit). The head (often a ball & socket these days) needs to be easy to lock tight and unlock to allow movement and fine adjustments ... some stick and jerk a bit

Hope this helps
Phil

Phil from the great land Downunder
www.flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

1 year 3 months ago #747244 by Razky

Petroguy wrote: In case you missed my other post here. I'm brand new to photography and just picking up all my gear right now. I know how important a good tripod is from my dad back in the day. However now that I'm looking these things up, I see there are so many choices! 
Starting off, which is best for someone getting started, carbon fiber or aluminum?