Why is shooting in RAW slower than JPEG?

13 years 3 months ago #26682 by Kitzmiller
(remember I'm a newbie) I'm reading some of the post and threads here and found a statement about shooting in RAW is slower than JPEG? They didn't say why? Can you answer that for me please?

So if RAW is slower, why am I reading that most of you shoot in RAW over JPEG?

Photo Comments
13 years 3 months ago #26754 by Joves
I dont see a difference with my D300 and Im using RAW+Jpeg. Im not saying it doesnt happen with some models but, I dont see much effect even when shooting bursts. I think has more to do with the size and the flush speeds of the buffer than anything else.

13 years 3 months ago #26817 by Solstar
I think it has to do with the amount of information that RAW retains vs a JPEG. Much bigger files result (almost like taking several shots at once) and so take more time to write to the card. My cameras aren't the most modern so I definitely notice a difference in write speeds and have run up against the buffer a few times.

13 years 3 months ago - 13 years 3 months ago #26939 by Stealthy Ninja

Solstar wrote: I think it has to do with the amount of information that RAW retains vs a JPEG. Much bigger files result (almost like taking several shots at once) and so take more time to write to the card. My cameras aren't the most modern so I definitely notice a difference in write speeds and have run up against the buffer a few times.

:agree:

Exactly, it just they have more information to process. But it's worth it and unless you're using burst mode, not worth worrying about.

Oh and IMHO "burst mode" should be for getting 3-4 shots at a time, not filling your buffer for no reason.
13 years 3 months ago #27580 by Kitzmiller
OK so that is why you shoot in RAW most of the time then. Now are RAW fills pretty restrictive as to what programs will open that file?

Photo Comments
13 years 3 months ago #27591 by Baydream