4 years 2 months ago #674834 by sclipston
Hi everyone,
Make: Panasonic
Model: DMC-G7
ISO: 200
Aperture: f/5.6
Shutter speed: 1/320 sec
Captured: Sat, 1 Feb 2020 11:26am

I am quite new to photography and today was my first day out and about trying my hand at the art.  I was somewhat successful in accomplishing what I was trying to do.  As you can see the ice on the branch blends into the fast moving water behind it.  How would I adjust the setting to create more definition between the two?

Attachments:
4 years 2 months ago #674837 by Nikon Shooter
Possibly, a better result from the RAW file…

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
4 years 2 months ago #674851 by Tom-Dinning

Nikon Shooter wrote: Possibly, a better result from the RAW file…

it might serve better if you said how you did this, Nik, or is it a secret?

Photo Comments
4 years 2 months ago - 4 years 2 months ago #675068 by Brachenland
Several things about this shot do not make it work. Time of day, is one of those things needed to accentuated shadows. Another is the image should have been done as a long exposure this would have blurred the water. Setting the aperture is another, pin point focusing is another. Using the live view screen pin point or force focus on the frozen branch.

Here's a for instance:

Make: Canon
Model: Canon EOS M6
Lens: EF50mm f/1.8 STM
ISO: 100
Aperture: f/4.0
Shutter speed: 1/125 sec
Captured: Sun, 3 Nov 2019 19:54pm

With the morning light entering through a window, I set the aperture and pin point focus or force focus on just the smoke closest to the edge of the pot. Mind you in this image, there was enough light in the room to have seen the lamp and chair behind the smoke pot. but because I set the aperture and force focused on just the smoke, the camera blanked out the table lamp and chair.