Proprietary problems with my after market batteries...

13 years 2 months ago #32177 by chasrich
I'm new to using a Canon (60D). I've purchased some backup batteries from Hong Kong and have noticed a few problems. When I change to the spare battery it gives a message that the battery can't communicate - continue? It works fine but if I check Battery Info I get the same error message. Also the replacement batteries don't seem to charge on the "official" charger. Since I also ordered an after market charger I can charge them on that. The original battery does not work on the other charge though.

Has anyone figured out a work around for these problems? If not, what type of verbiage should I look for in the description of any additional batteries I might buy?

“Amateurs worry about equipment, professionals worry about money, masters worry about light, I just make pictures… ” ~ Vernon Trent
13 years 2 months ago #32178 by Baydream
Buy genuine Canon batteries. Off-brand can void your warranty. Is it worth a few dollars to risk losing your big investment?

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
13 years 2 months ago - 13 years 2 months ago #32181 by chasrich
Would that hold true for After Market Battery grip?

“Amateurs worry about equipment, professionals worry about money, masters worry about light, I just make pictures… ” ~ Vernon Trent
13 years 2 months ago #32183 by Baydream

chasrich wrote: Would that hold true for After Market Battery grip?

I do not believe so. I have an after market Zeikos on my XSi with no issues.

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
13 years 2 months ago #32187 by qualityresults
I have an Opteka Grip with my 7D and my XTI. The guy from the camera shop thought it was a Canon grip so.