Canon 550D

13 years 6 months ago #3747 by vip2010
Initially i was considering the Canon 60D but it looks like the 550d is a much better camera? Any opinions, what does everyone think of the 550d?

13 years 6 months ago #3805 by CanonKid
I would go with the 60D, IMHO this is a better camera. It will cost you more, but you get what you pay for.

Canon 7D, 15-85mm, 18-55mm, 70-200mm, 100mm Macro, Sigma 120-300mm, Speedlite 430EX II

A bad day at the race track is better than a good day in the office

Photo Comments
13 years 1 week ago #51176 by quietguy
I presently have both of these, and in my view both are great cameras.

In that I am a beginner, and may not have enough knowledge to judge features that I have not yet learned to use, I can only comment that you cant go wrong with either.

I am going to sell the 550D, as the movable LCD on the 60D is a very big plus for me as my eyes are not too good and I can get close to the screen even when the camera is at an odd angle/position. Also, the 60D has the wireless for operating a 430EXII as remote built in - very handy I reckon.

That said I find I prefer the 'feel' of the buttons and controls on the 550D to those on the 60D - while both are OK the 550D buttons have a more positive feedback feel whereas the 60Ds are a little mushy - eg like a keyboard that doesnt click when you press a key. That said the 60D still feels nice to use, adn though they dont give much feedback, they operate smoothly and positively.

I cannot detect any difference in the pics taken with these cameras, using both in the fully auto mode with the same lens, though someone with more skills using manual settings might have a different view.

The 60D is a bit heavier, and feels more solid, but the to me the 550D also feels well made and not at all flimsy or cheap. Just a matter of preference I think.

Hope this helps somewhat - I am sure you will be happy which way your choice goes

13 years 5 days ago - 13 years 5 days ago #51547 by Henry Peach