Beginner DSLR for travelling

11 years 7 months ago #252898 by Safyia
Hi,

I am an amateur photographer (meaning I am shooting with my phone recently :lol: ) and I would like to buy a DSLR for beginners. I would like to use it mostly for landscape, sceneries and so. What parameters and cameras should I look for? I like travelling so I prefer a lighter one with good contrast and vibrant colors. Can you recommend me some? Thanks!

11 years 7 months ago #252981 by stschemb
Hi Lea,
There is no easy answer. What you would like to consider is the following factors:
- weigth and dimensions. The leap from a smartphone is a big one nevertheless, you will soon find out that DSLRs are usually big and heavy. Be prepared.
- compatibility and reliability. Buy something that the factory will be able to support for years, you may wish to consider only the bigger companies (Nikon, Canon, Pentax, Sony), for these you will also find most of the accessories and lenses are usually easy to find in big city stores.
- Price. Set a range of prices and see what you can get for that amount. Use Internet as a reference.
- Specifications and performance. Internet is a very good source for that. You can avoid mistakes if you know in advance what a camera can actually do. DpReview is a good source, for example. Read also the specialized magazines, they're a valuable source too.
- What to avoid. Do you really need 25 pictures per second and a 34Mpixel sensor? Will it be usefyul to have 45 selectable points of focus? How often will you take 3D videos with stereo sound? Can you survive without a GPS in your camera? Many features cost extra money which you maybe could spend on a better lens than the one in the kit, maybe.
- Software. Don't forget the dark room! Be prepared to spend some additional money for a processing software, that will make the other half of your photo!

Try to build up an idea and come back with your findings, we'll help!

Kind regards,
Stef