RAW question

12 years 3 months ago - 12 years 3 months ago #188737 by shelland
I am pure enthusiast, but have been shooting RAW and using Lightroom for over a year. So I'm not a pure newbie by any means.

I realize that the preview of a RAW image in the camera might not look exactly as it does on the computer. But last weekend I took pictures at my son's basketball games. The lighting was far from ideal, which is not uncommon for a Middle School basketball game.

I was shooting manual, and the meter and histogram showed that I was a tad underexposed, but considering I had already slowed down to 1/400 with an ISO of 2500 (f/2.8) I couldn't slow it down much more.

Even though I was a bit underexposed (the meter normally showed 1/3 to 2/3 under - so not terrible), I thought the color looked pretty good in general. But when I got home and downloaded the, the pictures look extremely drab in most cases - nothing like the colors I'm seeing on my camera. Many of them look very washed out. So I'm trying to figure out if I accidentally applied a pre-set or something without realizing it, which resulted in colors being imported differently. Again, I've been shooting RAW and using LR for over a year and have never noticed such a distinct difference between the color between the two before.

Any ideas what I could check to be sure I didn't do something like that? I know it's hard for anyone to tell what I might have done. But the pictures are just soooo different in LR than they were on my camera, that I'm wondering (hoping!) if I did something accidentally that I haven't done before.

I can post an example later, but that's obviously not going to show what the pictures look like on my camera in comparison.

If anyone has any bright ideas, I'm all years!

Thank you!

Scott

- Twin Cities, MN

12 years 3 months ago #188740 by icepics