Need your advice

12 years 7 months ago #150979 by trishulpani
Hi All,

I'm a newbie in the photography world - and I recently purchased my dream dSLR. This image is from one of my latest trips. I need advice on how this image could be better or any other general opinion.

Thanks,
Trishul

Attachments:
12 years 7 months ago #151038 by Baydream
Start by cloning out that piece of tree in th eright sky and cropping off a bit of the "dead space" on the left. That would be a good start.
Try that a post again to this thread (as a reply) and see how it looks.

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
12 years 7 months ago - 12 years 7 months ago #151067 by MLKstudios
I'm not one to say how to fix this pic, but how to make your next one better. And hopefully the next and the next keep improving.

You have two competing subjects now -- the sunset and the bench. Pick one, and make it the focus of the frame.

I think the bench makes a good foreground element, and could be "supported" by a beautiful sunset. A step to the right eliminates the tree bits that Bd pointed out, and compose the sun so it isn't so much in the center.

A VERY slight underexposure will help saturate the colors, but that can also be done in post. I'd try to get the shadow details in the original.

In short, take a step right, get lower to make the bench more prominent in the frame and balance the bench with the sun (recompose).

Matthew :)

Matthew L Kees
MLK Studios Photography School
www.MLKstudios.com
[email protected]
"Every artist, was once an amateur"

12 years 7 months ago #151081 by photobod