Castlerigg Sunrise - without filter

12 years 2 months ago - 12 years 2 months ago #207209 by nedward50
Alex's California Sunset using blocking filters for long exposure has prompted this post. I think it a great shot.

I have been visiting this site for 40 years and as I am now trying to learn photography, thought I'd try a sunrise. There is no HDR treatment and no filter involved. ISO 100 at f22 for 1/10 second has given lens flare (white banding not the starburst) loads of grainy noise. The shortish exposure was because I metered close to the sun as it rose.
Needless to say the raw file was a black silhouette with an orange ball above it. So there was a lot of post production work that i'm not sure or happy about.

I cropped to a "pano" type but its not a true panorama. Any thoughts or observations that will help me improve?

Also posted is an after dawn and 3:2 aspect of the same as comparison for the pano crop.

Attachments:
12 years 2 months ago - 12 years 2 months ago #207210 by Karl Wertanen
First off, i'm no pro.... But it looks to me that for shooting into the sun, no filters, and dealing with the conditions given, they turned out pretty good. I think you made the right decision by not digging in too much deeper with the PS. I think there reaches a point when people use PS to push a picture farther than it really can go considering the conditions the photograph was shot under and it ends up just looking amateurish. It looks like you were able to recover and use as much of the exposure as possible without crossing that line. I don't really see much more that you could have done if you were not going to use filters while shooting and heavy surgery like HDR (which can also easily look amateurish if not controlled properly). I would say nice work. :cheers: :goodpost:

#1 does look a little underexposed though.
The following user(s) said Thank You: nedward50
12 years 2 months ago #207221 by Baydream
Love the "feeling" and crop of #2. Into the sun is so tough.