A pug, flower, and outdoors- Please critique!

11 years 3 weeks ago #281628 by BRhodes
I'm new to the PhotographyTalk forums. I still have lots to learn about the art of photography as I consider myself a beginner. Please take a moment to critique a few of my photos!

11 years 3 weeks ago #281629 by atort
I'm not one to love to critique images because if YOU enjoy them then for me that's all that matters. But since you asked I am going to say for myself....your shot of the yellow flower and sunset scene though the grass are stronger than the others for example you posted. With that being said the sunset grass image is the strongest of the bunch for me at least....second is the yellow lily or whatever flower that is. The images of the pug are cute, but not amazing or super special...the dog is engaging in the one image, but still a slight generic for me at least. I shot for dog magazines for a long time if that means anything too such as BARK, Dog Fancy, Animal Wellness, etc. And it's nice you are experimenting with different perspectives shooting low on that one sidewalk shot. I would say keep shooting and experimenting and playing and most importantly having fun. Hope this helps a bit.

To live without risk is to risk not living! Oh...life IS a trip too! :)
The following user(s) said Thank You: BRhodes
11 years 3 weeks ago #281636 by icepics
I think you're seeing things in an interesting way - I think too that the photos of the yellow flower and the sunset have interesting perspectives and are done in a creative way. You seem to be on the right track with those, and actually the pink flower could work but maybe the depth of field is too shallow - it looks like the center of the flower is in focus but it leaves most of the photo out of focus. Otherwise that's another interesting compostion.