A Different Culture

5 years 2 months ago #630584 by Khelm
I'm studying the Chinese language (in China) and made a friend who wants to be a movie director.  He invited me to his village over the school break to document the making of his movie.  It's a movie of his people group the "Yi" people.  He is hoping to promote his culture while making movies.  It was a good trip as I was able to visit a small village where it's unlikely many foreigners have been.  Here are a couple photos I was able to capture.

Make: FUJIFILM
Model: X100T
ISO: 200
Aperture: f/8.0
Shutter speed: 1/50 sec
Captured: Wed, 23 Jan 2019 15:04pm

I wish I could of framed this photo a little better by not cutting the top of her head off but, unfortunately, it was a photo of opportunity and I had to react quickly.  

Aperture: f/6.4
Shutter speed: 1/500 sec
Captured: Thu, 24 Jan 2019 13:03pm

I wish I could of not put her feet so close to the bottom of the frame but I was laying on the ground and trying to get shots while they were filming a scene.  I was laying under the view of the camera filming.  Maybe burst mode would of helped?  She is the leading female actress and I was able to get some decent shots of her in between filming scenes.

Aperture: f/3.2
Shutter speed: 1/4000 sec
Captured: Thu, 24 Jan 2019 13:36pm

This is one of the crew/cast who I got to pose for some photos for me.  This trip I had access to some actors and actresses who were willing to have their photos taken.  It helped that photography was my job for the ten days I was there.  This trip is the first time I've really tried portrait photography/shooting people as I generally don't like people in my photos unless doing street photography.

a woman in traditional Yi clothing during the filming of a scene.  It was getting dark and I had to up the ISO with f2.0 and it was shot handheld.  

Attachments:
5 years 2 months ago #630585 by Nikon Shooter
I do share the same fascination for the Chinese people and