How to shoot through a chain link fence?

12 years 9 months ago #109345 by TMR 001
How can I shoot through a chain link fence without the fence being in the picture? I recently went to a zoo and all my pictures I can see the fence, which IMO makes the picture look bad.

12 years 9 months ago #109349 by Black Forest
You have to manual focus on the subject. Focus passed the fence. Manual focus to the point where the fence becomes invisble. It's possible, it's just takes practice.

12 years 9 months ago #109353 by TMR 001
Alright, so manual focus pass the fence. What if I am not good at manual focusing? I can never seem to get a complete focus when I MF.

12 years 9 months ago #109356 by cod
In addition to manual focusing as described above, keeping your aperture as wide open as your shot allows for minimal depth of field will help. The further from the fence the subject is the better these techniques will work. Likewise the closer you can get to the fence the better - there will be fewer out-of-ficus bands obscuring your subject.

Chris O'Donoghue
Winnipeg, Canada
codonoghue.prosite.com

12 years 9 months ago #109362 by Black Forest

TMR 001 wrote: Alright, so manual focus pass the fence. What if I am not good at manual focusing? I can never seem to get a complete focus when I MF.

First manual focus, when the subject appears to mainly be in focus, then you can switch back over to AF. The camera should AF on your subject (that is, if your AF point is on the subject, and not on the fence)

12 years 9 months ago #109363 by TMR 001

cod wrote: In addition to manual focusing as described above, keeping your aperture as wide open as your shot allows for minimal depth of field will help. The further from the fence the subject is the better these techniques will work. Likewise the closer you can get to the fence the better - there will be fewer out-of-ficus bands obscuring your subject.